Jubilees 2013


Richard Wagner – 200th anniversary of his birth

At the beginning, in 1843, there was a yes and a no from Breitkopf & Härtel: No to the “Flying Dutchman”, which was too expensive for the publisher, and Yes to the biblical scene “The Love-Feast of the Apostles.” The score opened the way to an intensive business relationship with the publisher, which led to the publication of various first editions of much greater importance, in particular “Lohengrin” (1852) and “Tristan und Isolde” (1860). A major, and lasting, disturbance arose when, on 10 July 1856, while he was still negotiating the contract for “Tristan,” Wagner formulated his demand for an advance for the “Ring des Nibelungen,” half of which had already been written by then: “For years now, it has been my most ardent dream to own a little plot of land in the country for a garden and a house. I have reserved the publisher’s honorarium for the work to purchase and develop such a property in the vicinity of Zurich.” Seeing that many of the productions of his completed operas announced by Wagner had come to naught, Hermann and Raymund Härtel began showing less and less interest in the acquisition of the rights...
Not long after Wagner’s death, Breitkopf brought out his “Gesammelte Schriften und Dichtungen” (1911, Volksausgabe 1912), and, prior to the anniversary year 1913, the publisher began issuing an edition of the correspondence as well as a complete edition of the musical works. Both major projects were discontinued after 1918, however. Only after 1989 did the edition of the “Sämtliche Briefe,” which had been launched by the Deutscher Verlag für Musik, Leipzig, enter the publisher’s catalogue when Breitkopf acquired this publishing house. Further volumes have been published since then, and Wagner’s fascinating correspondence is now available in 19 volumes up to the year 1865. In two years’ time, for the big Wagner anniversary, this edition will most certainly have grown by at least two further volumes.
Through the partial complete edition, the performance parts to “Tannhäuser” and to the early opera “The Love Ban” entered the publisher’s catalogue in the 1920s; they were followed later by “The Flying Dutchman.” To this day, Breitkopf & Härtel offers reliable performance material to these five stage works, which is the material of choice for many opera houses around the world. Opera lovers also know and admire the piano-vocal scores for all music dramas with the motif lists by Carl Waack, which trace the various leitmotif strands and thus help the user decipher the works’ complex structure. This makes it easy to follow while listening or reading, particularly since each piano-vocal score contains an alphabetical motif listing and a consecutively numbered motivic overview.
All Wagner lovers can thus expertly prepare themselves for the 200th birthday of their favorite composer on 22 May 2013.

All works by Richard Wagner published by Breitkopf

Adriana Hölszky - 60th anniversary of her birth

„For the composer, time is like a mountain for a mountain-climber. The mountain does not belong to the climber.“ (Adriana Hölszky)

Nearly all of Adriana Hölszky’s works have found a home at Breitkopf & Härtel since 1 January 2011. However, the composer began working with the publisher back in 1990. The early works, including her successful debut piece “Bremer Freiheit,” were initially published by the Astoria-Verlag. Two “literary gifts” are being presented to Adriana Hölszky on her landmark birthday: the first is an examination of her works in a double volume of the “Musik-Konzepte” cycle (Munich: edition text+kritik). The second is a monograph devoted to the works by the musicologist Maria Kostakeva in her book “Metamorphose und Eruption. Annäherung an die Klangwelten Adriana Hölszkys” (Hofheim: Wolke Verlag), which also comprises five “workshop” conversations with the composer from the years 2002 to 2008.

All works by Adriana Hölzsky published by Breitkopf


Carlo Gesualdo - 400th anniversary of his death

Would music history have reached atonality in the 17th century if Monteverdi and Schütz had chosen to follow Gesualdo and his bold harmonies and vocal lines instead of Palestrina and Lasso? No matter: the six transmitted madrigal books of the aristocratic composer belong to the leading collections of vocal literature. To this day, composers still refer to Gesualdo and his audacious musical idiom in their works. Gesualdo’s collected works consist of altogether nine vocal collections and a few smaller pieces. They have been published by the Deutscher Verlag für Musik, Leipzig, in the reliable text-critical edition “Sämtliche Werke,” on which the available individual partbooks are also based.

All works by Don Carlo Gesualdo published by Breitkopf


Udo Zimmermann - 70th anniversary of his birth

“Mr. White Rose” Udo Zimmermann will not only be honored in Dresden with his now famous opera, but his “White Rose” will also be the subject of several creative treatments through arrangements this year for the first time. In March 2013, the Scenes, which have been staged in many theaters, were successfully condensed by Arno Waschk into a chamber drama for six instrumentalists at the Koblenz Theater. Compared with the original scoring, this means a concentration of the individual sounds into a transparent confrontation between the two vocalists, one that tautens itself into a powerful mass in the tutti sections. With altogether ten performances, this new version presented on Koblenz’ rehearsal stage proved its adaptability to smaller spaces as a convincing alternative to the wellknown original version with 15 instrumentalists. It is certainly a coincidence that another new, reduced version of the “White Rose” is about to be presented by the “Wanderoper Brandenburg” so soon after the Koblenz premiere on 26 April 2013. These two creative receptions had provided a positive impetus to the “Udo Zimmermann Year”. The festive concert celebrating his 70th birthday at the Festspielhaus Hellerau on 6 October will then be reprising the original version, however.

All works by Udo Zimmermann published by Breitkopf


Johann Ludwig Krebs - 300th anniversary of his birth

Krebs hailed from Buttstädt in Thuringia. From 1726 to 1735 he studied with Johann Sebastian Bach, who held him in such high esteem that he is said to have called him “the sole crab in my stream [“Bach” = stream].” After working in Zwickau and Zeitz, Krebs held the post of Ducal Court Organist in Altenburg from 1756 until his death in 1780. He continued the Baroque tradition with conviction. However, he did not refrain from using elements of the "galant", "empfindsam" style which was also to leave its mark in general in the organ music of the mid-18th century. Also available in the Edition Breitkopf are the “Complete Organ Works” (in 4 volumes) as well as the “Complete Works for Organ and Obbligato Instrument” in Urtext editions by Gerhard Weinberger.

All works by Johann Ludwig Krebs published by Breitkopf