Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 in D minor Op. 125
Breitkopf Urtext - ed. by Peter Hauschild

The "Ninth" as the crowning close of the Beethoven symphonies.

Reviews comparing the editions of Beethoven's symphonies from various publishers point out especially the performance-practical advantages of the editions of Clive Brown and Peter Hauschild who, for example, offer all the essential information on the work in a clearly arranged critical commentary in every score.

The new edition of the Ninth Symphony also does justice from every point of view to the editorial principle of "source criticism for performance practice." In addition to an evaluation of the sources and the determination of metronome markings, the editor questions above all the dynamic markings, which were notated quite negligently by Beethoven and his copyists. Peter Hauschild's prefaces to the score and the piano reduction of the choral finale offer fascinating insights into Beethoven's creative workshop in a concentrated form. With dramaturgical subtlety, he also unfolds the history of the genesis of the symphony, which was composed practically in reverse, starting from the closing movement.

Table of contents
1. Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
2. Molto vivace
3. Adagio molto e cantabile
4. Presto
5. Final chorus from Schiller's "Ode to Joy"