Sibelius: Symphony No. 1 in E minor Op. 39
Urtext based on the Complete Edition "Jean Sibelius Works" (JSW - series I Vol. 2) - ed. by Timo Virtanen

A monumental work revised

1900 was a key year for Jean Sibelius. He wrote his First Symphony, attended its frenetically applauded premiere in Helsinki, and subsequently accompanied the orchestra of the world premiere to the Universal Exhibition in Paris. There – and elsewhere as well, especially in central Europe – the work brought him his first international triumphs and encouraged him in his compositional path. Since the E minor Symphony has maintained its place in the repertoire to this day, no time has been lost in releasing the Urtext performance material based on the corresponding volume of the Complete Edition. While the conducting score can be purchased, the orchestral material continues to be available on hire.

Table of contents
1 Andante, ma non troppo
2 Andante, ma non troppo lento
3 Scherzo
4 Finale