Hanns Eisler Complete Edition (HEGA)
ed. by the Internationale Hanns Eisler Gesellschaft in cooperation with Stephanie Eisler and the Stiftung Archiv der Akademie der Künste Berlin

Editorial Board
Thomas Phleps (Music), Georg Witte (Writings)

Editorial Members
Music: Oliver Dahin / Johannes C. Gall, Writings: Maren Köster

Editorial Committee
Hartmut Fladt, Werner Grünzweig, Elmar Juchem, Roland Kluttig, Giselher Schubert

The editorial works are supported by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft.
Special volumes are made possible with the support of the following foundations:
Klöckner-Stiftung, Lotto-Stiftung

The major upheavals that transformed society and musical aesthetics during the first half of the 20th century also profoundly affected the life of Hanns Eisler, as well as his compositions and writings. The importance and scope of Eisler’s oeuvre are reason enough to make his works accessible to musical scholarship and practice in a comprehensive fashion.
The goal of the Hanns Eisler Complete Edition (HEGA) is to present to the public all available compositions, writings and letters in an appropriately scholarly form. It takes a historico-critical approach and seeks to document the history of the works and writings by shedding light on their transformations, thus identifying the various versions as witnesses of evolving aesthetic and historical positions.
Eisler’s complete oeuvre (only a limited number of his works had penetrated the public’s awareness up until the 1990s) first became the object of an editorial undertaking when the "Eisler - Gesammelte Werke" (EGW) was founded by Nathan Notowicz. It was later placed under the direction of Manfred Grabs and Eberhardt Klemm, and began issuing its publications in 1968 through the intermediary of the Deutscher Verlag für Musik in Leipzig. However, only four volumes of music and five volumes of writings were published. The Hanns Eisler Complete Edition pursues the work begun at that time, although it has had to fundamentally revise its editorial principles. In this respect, the Hanns Eisler Complete Edition can be considered as a completely new editorial undertaking.
It became necessary to reconceive the organization of the volumes and series as well as the editorial guidelines in order to adapt the standards of historico-critical editing generally applicable today to the specific and sometimes singular circumstances of Eisler’s works.
The Critical Commentaries pertaining to the main volumes follow the music section or, whenever they are too extensive, appear in a special volume.
(from the Editorial Preface)

Series I: Choral Music (8 volumes)
Vol. 1: "Deutsche Symphonie", ed. by Thomas Ahrend and Thomas Phleps (in prep.)
Series II: Music for Voice and Instrumental Ensemble or Orchestra (4 volumes)
Series III: Music for Voice and Piano (number of volumes still undetermined)
Vol. 1: "Lieder" 1917-1920, ed. by Julia Rittig-Becker (in prep.)
Series IV: Instrumental Music (10 volumes)
Vol. 1: Music for Orchestra, ed. by Michael Polth (in prep.)
Vol. 10: Music for Piano, ed. by Christoph Keller and Christian Martin Schmidt (in prep.)
Series V: Incidental Music (15 volumes, incl. 5 volumes with alternative versions)
Vol. 3: "Die Rundköpfe und die Spitzköpfe" (Roundheads and Peakheads), ed. by Thomas Ahrend and Albrecht Dümling
Vol. 5: "Höllenangst", ed. by Peter Schweinhardt (in prep.)
Series VI: Film Music (number of volumes still undetermined)
Series VII: Sketches and Fragments (number of volumes still undetermined)
Series VIII: Arrangements of works by other composers (number of volumes still undetermined)
Series IX: Writings, Letters and Interviews (11 volumes)
Vol. 1.1-3: Complete Writings, ed. by Günter Mayer (in prep.)
Vol. 3.1-2: "Johann Faustus", ed. by Gert Mattenklott and Friederike Wißmann (in prep.)
Vol. 4.1-3: Letters by Hanns Eisler, ed. by Jürgen Schebera (in prep.)


This edition has been awarded the German Music Edition Prize.