Beethoven: Symphony No. 3 in Eb major Op. 55
Breitkopf Urtext - edited by Peter Hauschild

The state of the sources for this key work is complex and incomplete; even the autograph is lost. For this new edition, Peter Hauschild was able to consult for the first time parts from the first edition which contain autographic markings by Beethoven. But in order to bring to the surface Beethoven’s "last will”, the editor subjected this orchestral work to a very informed and meticulous "overall revision”. Among the results is an authentic piano marking in bar 103ff of the final movement which is found in many early sources and places in doubt the entire previous performance tradition of the famous Eroica theme. In other cases, the revision communicates alternative versions which the conductor can choose from before starting rehearsal work.

Table of contents
1. Allegro con brio
2. Marcia funebre: Adagio Assai
3. Scherzo: Allegro vivace
4. Finale: Allegro molto