Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 in D major Op. 36
Breitkopf Urtext - ed. by Clive Brown

For the present Urtext edition of Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 2, the editor also consulted certain sources and authentic new variants for the first time; among them are the nonet arrangement made by Beethoven’s pupil Ferdinand Ries in 1807, thus with authentic variants. Thanks to his vast knowledge, the editor has uncovered a number of errors and contradictions in the sources. The basic differences with respect to the existing editions chiefly concern the articulation and dynamics in movements 1, 2 and 4. They can easily be found in the Critical Commentary of the conducting score.

Table of contents
1. Adagio - Allegro con brio
2. Larghetto
3. Scherzo: Allegro
4. Allegro molto