Tunder: Complete Organ Works
ed. by Michael Belotti - Breitkopf Urtext

Edited “very closely to the sources” 

The organ works of Franz Tunder consist of four preludes, one canzon and nine chorale settings. The works constitute an important stylistic link between Sweelinck and Buxtehude. On the basis of new findings on sources, stylistic aspects and performance practice of  17th-century organ music, Michael Belotti provides a new assessment of Tunder’s works and offers many new solutions concerning dubious or fragmentarily transmitted passages. In many cases, however, the editor decided to simply follow the sources, since they are superior to the attempted improvements of the earlier editions. For this reason too, Belotti’s new Urtext edition deserves the predicate “very close to the sources.”

Table of contents
1. Praeludium in F
2. Praeludium in g
3. Praeludium in g
4. Praeludium in g
5. Canzon in G
6. Auf meinen lieben Gott
7. Christ lag in Todes Banden
8. Herr Gott, dich loben wir
9. In dich hab ich gehoffet, Herr
10. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland
11. Jesus Christus, wahr’ Gottes Sohn
12. Komm, Heiliger Geist, Herre Gott
13. Was kann uns kommen an für Not
14. Appendix: Incompletely Transmitted Works
EB 8825   30,90 €