Jean Sibelius Complete Works (JSW)
Series V (Works for Piano) Vol. 2: Opp. 58, 67, 68, 74, 75, 76 - ed. by Kari Kilpeläinen

The present volume of the Complete Edition comprises a truly homogenous group: all the piano works from the "Ten Piano Pieces" op. 58 to the "Treize Morceaux" Op. 76. No doubt the best known pieces among them are the "Three Sonatinas" op. 67, which were played so masterfully (and were so highly esteemed) by Glenn Gould. All the pieces were written within the space of ten years, between 1909 and 1919, at a time when Sibelius was already an internationally renowned composer. He was, however, dependent on the smaller, short-term commissions and their honorariums for his livelihood. During World War I, it was impossible for Sibelius in Helsinki to maintain his contacts with the major European concert halls. This difficult situation also helped prompt the creation of the pieces written after 1914 and grouped by the composer and his Finnish publishers into the opp. 75 and 76.

Table of contents
Cinq Morceaux Op. 75
Lyrische Stücke Op. 74
Three Sonatinas Op. 67
Treize Morceaux Op. 76
Two Rondinos Op. 68
Zehn Klavierstücke Op. 58
SON 612   149,00 €