Heller: Intervallbuch for Piano

Playing with intervals

Barbara Heller had already tackled the challenge of writing short piano pieces around a specific interval in her "Quint-Spiele" (EB 8749). Now, in her "Intervallbuch," she applies this concept to the other intervals and has produced four or five pieces each for the second to the octave, and arranged them in order of progressive difficulty. The little pieces are as delightful as their evocative titles, such as "Die schüchterne Sekunde" (The Shy Second), "Die faule Terz" (The Lazy Third), "Sextenblues" (Sixth Blues) and "Wo will die Septime hin?" (Where is the Seventh Going?). But there is much more: Sigrid Naumann's accompanying texts encourage players to treat the notated material freely, to vary it, to improvise upon it and to contribute original compositional ideas.

Table of contents
I Sekunde 1 Die schüchterne Sekunde
2 Die Sekunde taucht auf und versinkt
3 Die kecke Sekunde – Ein Sekunden-Ballett
4 Sekundentrip
5 Ganztonschritte
II Terz 6 Die faule Terz
7 Rätsel
8 Der Grashüpfer
9 Terzenballade
10 Terzenkette
III Quarte 11 Kleine Quartentoccata
12 Die fröhliche Quarte
13 Sommerregen
14 Quartenlied – Quarte schwelgend
15 Quarten minimal
IV Quinte 16 Kleiner Quintenwalzer
17 Montagsblume für Isolde
18 Trauerwalzer
19 Hommage à Wally Karveno – Petit valse de quintes
V Sexte 20 Sextenparallelen
21 Terz-Sexten-Walzer
22 Die Sexte genießt den Klang
23 Sextenblues
VI Septime 24 Der große Schritt
25 Septimenwalzer
26 Septime und Sekunde im Dialog
27 Wo will die Septime hin?
VII Oktave 28 Oktav-Raum
29 Klang-Traum
30 Oktaven in Bewegung
31 Hommage à Eric Satie
EB 8665   14,90 €